The Historic Trust
Emergency Messages as of 4:19 am, Sat. Apr. 10
No information currently posted.
News Release
Photo of Chapel Remodel
Photo of Chapel Remodel
Providence Academy Chapel Renovation Wins Palladio Craftsman Award - 04/07/21

(Vancouver, WA) The historic rehabilitation of the Providence Academy Chapel has been recognized with a Palladio Award in the Craftsmanship category. Traditional Building magazine announced the award to SERA, the architecture firm which designed the renovation project, on April 5, 2021.


“The Historic Trust congratulates SERA for this richly deserved Craftsmanship Award,” said Stacey Graham, Interim CEO/President. “Their staff is well-known for its expertise working with historic buildings which made them a perfect partner in The Trust’s stewardship of Providence Academy.”


Rehabilitation of the Gothic Revival chapel, designed by Mother Joseph of the Sacred Heart and opened in 1883, began in January, 2019 and was completed the following May. At the same time, the Trust also commissioned SERA to rehabilitate Providence Hall. The Trust invested nearly $3,000,000 in the renovation of these two event spaces, and related projects.


More than $16 million has been spent to date for the purchase and renovation of the Academy during the past six years of Trust ownership, including a roof replacement. Renovation of porches and accessibility improvements are currently underway. Estimates indicate that a minimum of $30 million is needed to continue upgrades of interior spaces, masonry repairs, replace the aging elevator, and landscape the grounds.


SERA’s design work was complemented by the oversight of the Trust’s Academy Property Committee and Project Manager Jessica Engeman of Meritus, and the construction expertise of Schommer & Sons.


Traditional Building has been granting the Palladio Awards for 20 years. The awards are named in memory of the enduringly significant 16th century Italian architect Andrea Palladio (1508-1580), who was known for his designs of villas, churches, and palaces and for authorship in 1570 of the influential The Four Books of Architecture.

View more news releases from The Historic Trust.