The Historic Trust
Emergency Messages as of 4:32 pm, Thu. Apr. 2
No information currently posted.
News Release
Grace Melbuer
Grace Melbuer
The Historic Trust Honors George C. Marshall Leadership Award Recipients (Photo) - 03/19/20

VANCOUVER, WA (March 19, 2020) — The Historic Trust announces this year’s General George C. Marshall Leadership Awards recipients, Chase Smith (Adult Award recipient) and Grace Melbuer (Youth Award recipient). The Marshall Leadership Award recognizes a person’s leadership potential, commitment to public service, and strength of character. Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, the public Marshall Leadership Award Ceremony was canceled. The keynote speaker scheduled was Brigadier General Donna Prigmore and the presenting sponsor, Riverview Community Bank.  A private luncheon will be scheduled in late spring 2020 to honor the recipients.


The 2020 Marshall Award adult recipient is Chase Smith – Game Design/Computer Science teacher at Heritage High School in the Evergreen School District. The adult award recognizes an up- and- coming leader in Clark County, 35 years old or younger, who has a commitment to public service.  The adult nominees were: Bennett Brandenburg – Brandenburg Law Firm, Kayla Dansereau – Columbia Springs Environmental Education Center, Cadie Dye – Point North Consulting, Molly Evjen – Share House Vancouver, Rebecca Frommlet –  French and English teacher,  Ridgefield High School, Michael Pond – ADCO Printing & Graphics, Danielle Wass – City of Vancouver Police Department, and Liliya Zhukova – NWI Global.


The 2020 Marshall Award youth recipient is Grace Melbuer – Ridgefield High School.  The youth award recognizes a Clark County high school senior who has demonstrated leadership, stood for social justice and motivates others to become involved.  The 2020 youth nominees were: Arlilah Abatayo – Prairie High School, Kianne Bell – Prairie High School, Arianna Bollens – Columbia River High School, Sydney Clark – Seton Catholic Preparatory High School, Avneet Dhaliwal – Heritage High School, Andrew Ellson –  Cascadia Technical Academy, Hailey Hamilton – Battle Ground High School, Chloe Higgins – Camas High School, Wilson Keller – Columbia River High School, Daniela Reyes – Battle Ground High School, Bailey Segall – Camas High School, and Mackenzie Snell – Camas High School.


The Adult Selection Committee Members were: Mr. Jordan Boldt, Mr. Les Burger, Ms. Elizabeth Fitzgearld, Mr. Mike Morgan, Ms. Maggie Traverso, Mr. Larry Smith, and Ms. Michelle Wagner. The Youth Selection Committee Members were: Mr. Tom Hagley, Jr., Mr. Roger Jarvis, Ms. Sharon Pesut, Ms. Gail Spolar, and Dr. Mike Stromme.


David Pearson, CEO/President of The Historic Trust said, “We are honored to have had the chance to meet all of these young adult and youth nominee candidates. They are all truly accomplished and proud representatives of the George C. Marshall Leadership Award. Congratulations to all the nominees. They are a shining example of the next generation in Vancouver.” 


The Historic Trust has commemorated Gen. George Marshall’s legacy as a world statesman with this award since 1989.  General Marshall was stationed at Vancouver Barracks and lived in a Victorian home on Officers Row from 1936-1938.  He was a Brigadier General and a Commander of the 5th Infantry Brigade at Vancouver Barracks.  Marshall also served as the Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army during World War II, and Secretary of State. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for the development of The Marshall Plan, which assisted in rebuilding the economies of western European nations after World War II. 






About The Historic Trust: The Historic Trust is a nonprofit organization, founded in 1998, dedicated to inspiring civic pride and economic vitality through education, preservation, and celebration of our community's history. Learn more at or follow us on Twitter at


About Riverview Community Bank: Riverview Bancorp, Inc. ( is headquartered in Vancouver, Washington – just north of Portland, Oregon on the I-5 corridor. With assets of $1.15 billion, it is the parent company of the 95 year-old Riverview Community Bank, as well as Riverview Trust Company. There are 18 branches, including 14 in the Portland-Vancouver metro area. The Bank offers true community banking services, focusing on providing the highest quality service and financial products to commercial and retail customers. For the past five years, Riverview has been named Best Bank by the readers of The Vancouver Business Journal, The Columbian and The Gresham Outlook.



Attached Media Files: Grace Melbuer , Chase Smith