Oregon Arts Commission
Emergency Messages as of 8:44 am, Sat. Feb. 16
No information currently posted. Operating as usual.
News Release
Jess Perlitz named 2018 Joan Shipley Fellow, one of 19 2018 Individual Artist Fellows in the Visual Arts - 02/08/18

Salem, Oregon-- Jess Perlitz, a Portland-based artist working in sculpture, performance and drawing, is the 2018 recipient of the Oregon Arts Commission's honorary Joan Shipley Award. Perlitz leads a group of 19 Oregon artists selected from a pool of more than 120 applicants from 23 Oregon cities for the Arts Commission's Individual Artist Fellowships. The 2018 fellowships, awarded to artists from Portland, Beaverton, Eugene and Glide, support artists working in visual arts and design and include small financial stipends.

The Joan Shipley Award is named for Oregon arts leader Joan Shipley. Shipley was a collector, philanthropist and supporter of arts and humanities organizations. Many in the arts community counted her as a mentor and friend. In 2005, she and her husband John received an Oregon Governor's Arts Award.

The Arts Commission's Fellowship program is available to more than 20,000 artists who call Oregon home. Fellows are recommended by a review panel of arts professionals from Oregon and beyond who consider artists of outstanding talent, demonstrated ability and commitment to the creation of new work(s). This year visual and design arts were reviewed. The 2018 review panel included former Shipley Fellow Mike Bray of Eugene; artist and advocate Agnes Field of Astoria; Io Palmer, artist and associate professor at Washington State University, Pullman; and curator Ashley Stull Meyers of Portland, with Portland-based Arts Commissioner Avantika Bawa (also a former Shipley Fellow) serving as a non-voting chair. The panel's recommendations were approved by the full Arts Commission. Six of the Artist Fellowships are generously supported by The Oregon Community Foundation.

2018 Individual Artist Fellowships were awarded to:

Mona Lisa Ali Alzghoul, Beaverton
Pat Boas, Portland
Ben Buswell, Portland
Penelope Caldwell, Portland
Srijon Chowdhury, Portland
Renee Couture, Glide
Jeremy Okai Davis, Portland
Jack Featherly, Portland
Damien Gilley, Portland
Stephen Hayes, Portland
Cynthia Lahti, Portland
maximiliano, Portland
Akihiko Miyoshi, Portland
Jess Perlitz, Portland (Joan Shipley Fellow)
Ethan Rose, Portland
Heidi Schwegler, Portland
Naomi Shigeta, Portland
Lou Watson, Portland
Amanda Wojick, Eugene

NOTE: Artists bios, quotes and work samples are posted here: http://bit.ly/2EeJRDG

* * * * * * * * * * *

The Oregon Arts Commission provides leadership, funding and arts programs through its grants, special initiatives and services. Nine commissioners, appointed by the Governor, determine arts needs and establish policies for public support of the arts. The Arts Commission became part of Business Oregon (formerly Oregon Economic and Community Development Department) in 1993, in recognition of the expanding role the arts play in the broader social, economic and educational arenas of Oregon communities. In 2003, the Oregon legislature moved the operations of the Oregon Cultural Trust to the Arts Commission, streamlining operations and making use of the Commission's expertise in grantmaking, arts and cultural information and community cultural development.

The Arts Commission is supported with general funds appropriated by the Oregon legislature and with federal funds from the National Endowment for the Arts as well as funds from the Oregon Cultural Trust. More information about the Oregon Arts Commission is available online at: www.oregonartscommission.org.

View more news releases from Oregon Arts Commission.