Marion Co. Sheriff's Office
Emergency Messages as of 10:19 am, Mon. Jun. 1
No information currently posted.
Subscribe to receive FlashAlert messages from Marion Co. Sheriff's Office.
Primary email address for a new account:

And/or follow our FlashAlerts via Twitter

About FlashAlert on Twitter:

FlashAlert utilizes the free service Twitter to distribute emergency text messages. While you are welcome to register your cell phone text message address directly into the FlashAlert system, we recommend that you simply "follow" the FlashAlert account for Marion Co. Sheriff's Office by clicking on the link below and logging in to (or creating) your free Twitter account. Twitter sends messages out exceptionally fast thanks to arrangements they have made with the cell phone companies.

Click here to add Marion Co. Sheriff's Office to your Twitter account or create one.


Hide this Message

Manage my existing Subscription

News Release
Sheriff Kast with US, Commanders, & Lieutenants
Sheriff Kast with US, Commanders, & Lieutenants
Marion County Sheriff's Office Hosts Swearing In & Awards Ceremony (Photo) - 11/05/19

On November 4th, 2019, the Marion County Sheriff’s Office held a swearing in and awards ceremony in the Hall for Heroes at the State of Oregon’s Department of Public Safety Standards and Training Facility.  Each quarter, the Sheriff’s Office takes time to recognize the important contributions our employees make to help our community, recognize leaders who have been promoted in the organization, and to formally welcome new employees who have joined the Sheriff’s Office.

During the ceremony, the following eleven employees were presented with Life Saving Awards for actions they took to prevent the loss of life in our community and within the Marion County Jail: Deputies Phil McOmber, John Gelatt, Corey Larned, Cory Breitbach, Buffy Howell, Lauren Kellogg, Cody Crites, Josue Godoy, Cynthia Houghton, and Nurses Kathleen Adams McKenzie and Jessica Villanueva.  Program Coordinator Deb Giard was recognized for her efforts within the Community Corrections Division and was presented with a Meritorious Service Award.  Additionally, Sr. Dep. Mark Ferron was presented with a Community Policing Award for collaborative work he has done to improve public safety in rural recreational areas of Marion County.

Sheriff Kast recognized five members of the Sheriff’s Office leadership team who earned promotions within the organization.  Lieutenants Kevin Karvandi and Jeff Stutrud were promoted to Division Commanders during the ceremony.  Commander Karvandi, a 22-year veteran, will be leading the Community Corrections Division and Commander Stutrud, a 20-year veteran, will be leading the Enforcement Division.  Sergeants Mike Hartford, James Krieger, and Matt Meier were each promoted to the rank of Lieutenant.

The Sheriff’s Office was fortunate to swear in twelve new deputies as a part of the ceremony on Monday.  These new deputies bring with them a wide array of prior experience and are welcomed additions to Marion County.  Deputies recognized as being a recent addition to the Sheriff’s Office or for transitioning into new roles included; Alexis Buckholz, Bethany Kreutzer, Karni Smith, Amber Smith, Christopher Burbey, Marissa Foster, Geoffrey Riedberger, Jeremy Schwab, Traci Johan, Cameron Chrisemer, Rosario Hernandez, and Eric Gonzalez.

Following the ceremony, Sheriff Kast stated, “It’s an honor be able to recognize these women and men who have chosen to be a part of the Marion County Sheriff’s Office and be of service to their community.”

View more news releases from Marion Co. Sheriff's Office.