Clark College in Vancouver, WA

Emergency Messages as of 4:29 PM, Wed. Nov 4

No information currently posted.

logo

Subscribe to receive FlashAlert messages from Clark College in Vancouver, WA.

News Release

Clark College 2026 Fall Enrollment Remains Steady At Nearly 10,000 Students - 11/04/26

VANCOUVER, Wash. – Clark College reported its official fall enrollment numbers at a recent Clark College Board of Trustees meeting of a total enrollment of 9,893 students this fall, translating to a full-time equivalent (FTE) enrollment of 6,547 — a 0.66% increase in total unduplicated headcount compared to fall 2025, and contributing to an overall increase of 23.5% from fall 2022 to fall 2026.  

 

Of all students enrolled this fall, 46.6% are full-time and 53.4% are part-time. Running Start is comprised of 2,278 students (1.7% increase from 2025); 392 students are pursuing bachelor’s degrees (4.8% increase overall in the six bachelor programs); 219 student-athletes are participating in 11 different sports; 76 are international students; and 1,287 are non-credit students in the college’s Community and Continuing Education. 

 

The average age of a Clark student is 27.54 years old and constitutes 39% of the 25 years and over student body, where 61% are 24 years and younger. 47% of Clark students are first-generation.  

 

"Our steady enrollment tells a powerful story about how Clark College is enhancing the Southwest Washington community and living its mission of increasing student access and success while meeting our workforce needs,” said President Dr. Karin Edwards. “Nearly half of our students are first-generation, and the number of students of color climbs every year. These trends reaffirm Clark’s mission to promote upward mobility, and to deliver excellent and equitable education that opens doors of opportunity for everyone in our community.” 

 

NOTABLE TRENDS

Enrollment at community colleges nationwide — including Clark — dropped sharply in 2020. Since then, enrollment at Clark and other community colleges has held steady with small incremental increases. Enrollment numbers are provided by the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC), which tracks enrollment data for the 34 public colleges in its system.

 

Overall Enrollment (unduplicated):

  • Largest enrollment (headcount) since the pandemic in 2020

  • Total enrollment of 9,893 students, equivalent to 6,547 full-time equivalent (FTEs)

  • 23.5% enrollment increase in headcount over past five years (fall 2022 to fall 2026)

  • 392 students pursuing bachelor’s degrees at Clark, up 4.81% from fall 2025

  • 2,278 Running Start students, up 1.7% from fall 2025

  • 76 International Programs students, a 4.1% increase from fall 2025 

Modality (duplicated):

Students continue to take a mix of online and in-person classes on campus. We are seeing more students on campus with more student clubs and activities.  

  • 8,996 in person (duplicated) — 8.8% increase from last fall

  • 10,444 online (duplicated) — no change from last fall

  • 4,363 hybrid (mixture of in-person and online) (duplicated) — 3.5% decrease from last fall

Student Type (unduplicated):

When comparing fall 2022 to fall 2026, the percent of first-generation college students has increased by 3%, and enrollment of students of color has also increased by 5%.  

  • 53.4% part-time; 46.6% full-time

  • 23.2% are Running Start students

  • 219 student-athletes in track, soccer, basketball, baseball, softball, volleyball, and cross-country

  • 589 students with disabilities

  • 280 students are using veteran benefits 

Program Type:

Consistent with fall 2025 data, more than half (50%) of students are pursuing transfer degrees and plan to earn a bachelor’s degree at a four-year institution. 

  • 5,243 students (53%) pursuing transfer degrees in various disciplines, including pre-nursing, business, biology, and general academic

  • 392 students (4%) enrolled in Clark’s six bachelor’s degree programs:

    • 18.9% Bachelor of Applied Science in Dental Hygiene

    • 17.8% Bachelor of Applied Science in Cybersecurity

    • 16.1% Bachelor of Applied Science in Applied Management

    • 19.4% Bachelor of Applied Science in Human Services

    • 14.8% Bachelor of Applied Science in Teacher Education

    • 13% Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (new in 2025)

  • 20% enrolled in Career Technical Education (CTE) programs, with the top five programs in nursing, business administration, early childhood education, surgical technology, and medical assisting 

  • 10% enrolled in Transitional Studies courses (Basic Adult Education, GED preparation, English as a Second Language, high school plus)  

  • 13% in Community & Continuing Education (CCE)* or non-seeking classes *4,306 students were enrolled in CCE classes in 2025-26, up 32.5% from 2024-25. CCE offered 494 classes in 2025-26, up 21.4% from 2024-25. 

Running Start (unduplicated):  

  • 2,278 students, a 1.7% increase from fall 2025

  • Top five school districts with Running Start students attending Clark this fall: 

    • 589 students from Evergreen

    • 529 students from Vancouver

    • 447 students from Battle Ground

    • 283 students from Camas

    • 146 students from Ridgefield

Enrollment Location (duplicated):  

  • 11,443 students on main campus

  • 967 students at Clark at WSU-V

  • 638 students at Columbia Tech

  • 188 students at Boschma Farms

  • 11,112 students online

  • 240 students offsite 

Student Residence: 

  • 90.7% Clark County, Wash.

  • 9.3% other

Average Age: 27.5 years old 

  • 61% age 24 or younger

  • 39% age 25 or older

Student Gender:

  • 54.4% Female

  • 31.5% Male

  • 0.8% Nonbinary

  • 13.4% Not reported

Student Race/Ethnicity: In most categories, Clark enrollment closely mirrors Clark County (CC) demographics

  • 54.6% White (74.1% CC)

  • 6.5% Asian (5.3% CC)

  • 11.7% Latinx (12.9% CC)

  • 0.4% Native American (1.4% CC)

  • 14.7% Multiracial (11.3% CC)

  • 0.7% Hawaiian/Pacific Islander (1.3% CC)

  • 3.4% Black/African American (7.2% CC)

  • 8% Not reported

  • 0.9% Other


 

About Washington SBCTC  

The Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) makes higher education accessible and affordable by advocating, coordinating, and directing Washington state’s system of 34 public community and technical colleges. SBCTC collectively serves over 262,000 students each year, which makes it the largest system of public higher education in Washington. They serve over 50% of students of color. They are accessible, affordable, and connected to K-12 schools, universities, and employers. 

 

About Clark College  

Founded in 1933, Clark College is Southwest Washington’s largest public institution of higher education and serves nearly 10,000 students per term. Clark College provides residents of Southwest Washington with affordable, high-quality academic and technical education.  

 

Clark College offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs, including bachelor’s and associate degrees; professional certificates; high school diplomas and GED preparation; and non-credit community and continuing education. Clark serves a wide range of students, including high school students, displaced workers, veterans, parents, non-native English speakers, and mature learners. Approximately 47% of its students are in the first generation of their families to attend college. 

 

###

Clark College 2026 Fall Enrollment Remains Steady At Nearly 10,000 Students - 11/04/26

VANCOUVER, Wash. – Clark College reported its official fall enrollment numbers at a recent Clark College Board of Trustees meeting of a total enrollment of 9,893 students this fall, translating to a full-time equivalent (FTE) enrollment of 6,547 — a 0.66% increase in total unduplicated headcount compared to fall 2025, and contributing to an overall increase of 23.5% from fall 2022 to fall 2026.  

 

Of all students enrolled this fall, 46.6% are full-time and 53.4% are part-time. Running Start is comprised of 2,278 students (1.7% increase from 2025); 392 students are pursuing bachelor’s degrees (4.8% increase overall in the six bachelor programs); 219 student-athletes are participating in 11 different sports; 76 are international students; and 1,287 are non-credit students in the college’s Community and Continuing Education. 

 

The average age of a Clark student is 27.54 years old and constitutes 39% of the 25 years and over student body, where 61% are 24 years and younger. 47% of Clark students are first-generation.  

 

"Our steady enrollment tells a powerful story about how Clark College is enhancing the Southwest Washington community and living its mission of increasing student access and success while meeting our workforce needs,” said President Dr. Karin Edwards. “Nearly half of our students are first-generation, and the number of students of color climbs every year. These trends reaffirm Clark’s mission to promote upward mobility, and to deliver excellent and equitable education that opens doors of opportunity for everyone in our community.” 

 

NOTABLE TRENDS

Enrollment at community colleges nationwide — including Clark — dropped sharply in 2020. Since then, enrollment at Clark and other community colleges has held steady with small incremental increases. Enrollment numbers are provided by the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC), which tracks enrollment data for the 34 public colleges in its system.

 

Overall Enrollment (unduplicated):

  • Largest enrollment (headcount) since the pandemic in 2020

  • Total enrollment of 9,893 students, equivalent to 6,547 full-time equivalent (FTEs)

  • 23.5% enrollment increase in headcount over past five years (fall 2022 to fall 2026)

  • 392 students pursuing bachelor’s degrees at Clark, up 4.81% from fall 2025

  • 2,278 Running Start students, up 1.7% from fall 2025

  • 76 International Programs students, a 4.1% increase from fall 2025 

Modality (duplicated):

Students continue to take a mix of online and in-person classes on campus. We are seeing more students on campus with more student clubs and activities.  

  • 8,996 in person (duplicated) — 8.8% increase from last fall

  • 10,444 online (duplicated) — no change from last fall

  • 4,363 hybrid (mixture of in-person and online) (duplicated) — 3.5% decrease from last fall

Student Type (unduplicated):

When comparing fall 2022 to fall 2026, the percent of first-generation college students has increased by 3%, and enrollment of students of color has also increased by 5%.  

  • 53.4% part-time; 46.6% full-time

  • 23.2% are Running Start students

  • 219 student-athletes in track, soccer, basketball, baseball, softball, volleyball, and cross-country

  • 589 students with disabilities

  • 280 students are using veteran benefits 

Program Type:

Consistent with fall 2025 data, more than half (50%) of students are pursuing transfer degrees and plan to earn a bachelor’s degree at a four-year institution. 

  • 5,243 students (53%) pursuing transfer degrees in various disciplines, including pre-nursing, business, biology, and general academic

  • 392 students (4%) enrolled in Clark’s six bachelor’s degree programs:

    • 18.9% Bachelor of Applied Science in Dental Hygiene

    • 17.8% Bachelor of Applied Science in Cybersecurity

    • 16.1% Bachelor of Applied Science in Applied Management

    • 19.4% Bachelor of Applied Science in Human Services

    • 14.8% Bachelor of Applied Science in Teacher Education

    • 13% Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (new in 2025)

  • 20% enrolled in Career Technical Education (CTE) programs, with the top five programs in nursing, business administration, early childhood education, surgical technology, and medical assisting 

  • 10% enrolled in Transitional Studies courses (Basic Adult Education, GED preparation, English as a Second Language, high school plus)  

  • 13% in Community & Continuing Education (CCE)* or non-seeking classes *4,306 students were enrolled in CCE classes in 2025-26, up 32.5% from 2024-25. CCE offered 494 classes in 2025-26, up 21.4% from 2024-25. 

Running Start (unduplicated):  

  • 2,278 students, a 1.7% increase from fall 2025

  • Top five school districts with Running Start students attending Clark this fall: 

    • 589 students from Evergreen

    • 529 students from Vancouver

    • 447 students from Battle Ground

    • 283 students from Camas

    • 146 students from Ridgefield

Enrollment Location (duplicated):  

  • 11,443 students on main campus

  • 967 students at Clark at WSU-V

  • 638 students at Columbia Tech

  • 188 students at Boschma Farms

  • 11,112 students online

  • 240 students offsite 

Student Residence: 

  • 90.7% Clark County, Wash.

  • 9.3% other

Average Age: 27.5 years old 

  • 61% age 24 or younger

  • 39% age 25 or older

Student Gender:

  • 54.4% Female

  • 31.5% Male

  • 0.8% Nonbinary

  • 13.4% Not reported

Student Race/Ethnicity: In most categories, Clark enrollment closely mirrors Clark County (CC) demographics

  • 54.6% White (74.1% CC)

  • 6.5% Asian (5.3% CC)

  • 11.7% Latinx (12.9% CC)

  • 0.4% Native American (1.4% CC)

  • 14.7% Multiracial (11.3% CC)

  • 0.7% Hawaiian/Pacific Islander (1.3% CC)

  • 3.4% Black/African American (7.2% CC)

  • 8% Not reported

  • 0.9% Other


 

About Washington SBCTC  

The Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) makes higher education accessible and affordable by advocating, coordinating, and directing Washington state’s system of 34 public community and technical colleges. SBCTC collectively serves over 262,000 students each year, which makes it the largest system of public higher education in Washington. They serve over 50% of students of color. They are accessible, affordable, and connected to K-12 schools, universities, and employers. 

 

About Clark College  

Founded in 1933, Clark College is Southwest Washington’s largest public institution of higher education and serves nearly 10,000 students per term. Clark College provides residents of Southwest Washington with affordable, high-quality academic and technical education.  

 

Clark College offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs, including bachelor’s and associate degrees; professional certificates; high school diplomas and GED preparation; and non-credit community and continuing education. Clark serves a wide range of students, including high school students, displaced workers, veterans, parents, non-native English speakers, and mature learners. Approximately 47% of its students are in the first generation of their families to attend college. 

 

###