City of Battle Ground
Emergency Messages as of 7:28 pm, Fri. Aug. 14
No information currently posted.
Subscribe to receive FlashAlert messages from City of Battle Ground.
Primary email address for a new account:

And/or follow our FlashAlerts via Twitter

About FlashAlert on Twitter:

FlashAlert utilizes the free service Twitter to distribute emergency text messages. While you are welcome to register your cell phone text message address directly into the FlashAlert system, we recommend that you simply "follow" the FlashAlert account for City of Battle Ground by clicking on the link below and logging in to (or creating) your free Twitter account. Twitter sends messages out exceptionally fast thanks to arrangements they have made with the cell phone companies.

Click here to add City of Battle Ground to your Twitter account or create one.


Hide this Message

Manage my existing Subscription

News Release
Shauna Walters and Philip Johnson take Oath of Office
Shauna Walters and Philip Johnson take Oath of Office
Battle Ground City Council Welcomes New Member and Selects Mayor (Photo) - 01/08/20

The Battle Ground City Council began their first meeting of the year on January 6 by welcoming their newest member and selecting a Mayor and Deputy Mayor.  Clark County Superior Court Judge Gregory Gonzales attended the meeting to conduct the ceremonial oaths of office. 

Elected in November, Councilmember Shauna Walters was welcomed as the council’s newest member. Councilmembers Shane Bowman and Philip Johnson were reelected in November and are currently serving their third consecutive term in office.  The three join sitting councilmembers Adrian Cortes, Mike Dalesandro, Cherish DesRochers and Brian Munson who are in the third year of their four-year term of office.

The council selected Adrian Cortes to serve as Mayor and Philip Johnson as Deputy Mayor.  Every two years at their first meeting of the year, the council selects one of its members to serve as Mayor and one as Deputy Mayor for a two-year term. The Mayor's duties, in addition to having the same authority and responsibilities of all council members, are to preside at council meetings and serve as the ceremonial representative of the council. The Deputy Mayor serves as Mayor should the Mayor be absent.

The seven members of city council are elected at-large by voters to serve a four-year term of office. The council is responsible for the legislative function of the city such as establishing policy, passing local ordinances, approving budget appropriations, and developing an overall vision for the city. Under the city's adopted Council-Manager form of government, the city council appoints a city manager to implement its policies, serve as advisor, and oversee administrative operations of the city.

More information about the Battle Ground City Council, including council meeting information and a link to council member contact information is available on the City's website at

View more news releases from City of Battle Ground.